Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Bo Freeman, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBo FreemanCounty Extension Director (336) 599-1195 (Office) lrfreem3@ncsu.eduPerson County Center

4-H Youth Development

Michelle Van Ness, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMichelle Van NessExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (336) 599-1195 (Office) michelle_vanness@ncsu.eduPerson County CenterVicky Yeatts, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionVicky YeattsCommunity Service and Restitution Coordinator (336) 599-1195 (Office) vicky_yeatts@ncsu.eduPerson County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Johnny Coley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJohnny ColeyAgriculture Agent - Consumer and Commercial Horticulture (919) 603-1350 (Office) johnny_coley@ncsu.eduGranville County CenterGary Cross, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGary CrossArea Agent, Agriculture - Field Crops (919) 603-1350 (Office) gary_cross@ncsu.eduGranville County CenterKim Woods, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKim WoodsArea Agent, Agriculture - Animal Science (336) 599-1195 (Office) kim_woods@ncsu.eduPerson County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Jennifer Brown, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJennifer BrownArea Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (336) 599-1195 (Office) jennifer.brown@ncsu.eduPerson County Center

Support

Debbie Harrelson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie HarrelsonCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (336) 599-1195 (Office) debbie_harrelson@ncsu.eduPerson County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Person County Center, they may not be present in the Person County Center. Please contact the Person County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Jonas Asbill, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJonas AsbillArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Livestock - Poultry Serves 20 CountiesBased out of Randolph(336) 318-6000 (Office) jonas_asbill@ncsu.eduRandolph County Center Marti Day, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarti DayArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Orange(919) 542-8202 marti_day@ncsu.eduOrange County Center Erin Eure, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionErin EureArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Fruits and Vegetables Serves 35 CountiesBased out of Gates(252) 357-1400 (Office) erin_eure@ncsu.eduGates County Center Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Lynette Johnston, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Lynette JohnstonArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 50 CountiesBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences(919) 515-0303 lynette_johnston@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences Stacey Jones, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionStacey JonesArea Specialized Agent, Commercial Nursery and Greenhouse Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Cabarrus(704) 920-3310 (Office) stacey_jones@ncsu.eduCabarrus County Center Peggie Lewis Joyce, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionPeggie Lewis JoyceArea 4-H Agent - Central Region Serves 36 CountiesBased out of Davidson(336) 242-2080 (Office) peggie_lewis@ncsu.eduDavidson County Center Ashley Robbins, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAshley RobbinsArea Specialized Agent - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Chatham(919) 542-8203 ashley_robbins@ncsu.eduChatham County Center Chip Simmons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Chip Simmons, IIIArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety Serves 51 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(919) 414-5632 odsimmon@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 414-3873 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center